Taking Time to be Grateful: Learning to Love with Purpose

As usual, when holidays come around, we decide to look around us; aiming to discover all the reasons we have to be grateful. So what’s wrong with that? Absolutely nothing!

This is especially true when we realize what each holiday stands for…past all the hustle and bustle, past the gifts, get-togethers, and tinsel.

God with Us

God with Us

What is the real reason to be grateful? Hopefully, you said the Almighty. To know God, Jesus, and the Holy Spirit; and to know the soul within you is the true blessing that can surround you each and every day. For you to have more is to recognize why you should be grateful each day.

Only secondary to that are the people who surround you and show you what it means to love another. Offering gratitude to those who make your life even more incredible is an act that would make God proud.

When you wake every morning looking for reasons to why things happen, your life becomes more meaningful. To clearly see why something is unfolding, why someone showed up or left, or why you are handed a challenge, makes everything more interesting, too. Perhaps it’s to wake you up, to guide you clear from a horrible tragedy, or to give you lessons or blessings that continue you on the path you are meant to take. All I know is that many of the tragedies in my life have manifested into some sort of lesson.

Still, I would like to change some of the sadness of my past, but I know it’s not possible, and I know it shouldn’t. Losing my sister at a very young age, my mother, grandmother, or grandfather are certainly events I would like to adjust, but I know God had to take them when He wanted them; not according to my plan. Do I understand? No, I don’t. Do I have faith that there was a reason? Yes, I do.

Here’s what I do know with certainty: God has a plan for me and everyone else, and He knows what He is doing. I now live with the intent that I’m not in control (although I sometimes still try to be), but when I catch myself trying to take the wheel, I let go and hand it over to Him.

When my husband was in surgery, I finally let go. Did I stop worrying? No, but I knew I wasn’t in control of the situation and that gave me some peace. I knew that he was in good hands, that I should be proactive that he gets the best care, but I didn’t worry so much about every detail. I prayed, asked others to pray, and hoped that He would hear our request to keep him with us.

Through all of the twists and turns of this scary event, I was supposed to be working on all the opportunities that have presented themselves for Loving with Purpose. Did I fret about it? No, I didn’t. Why? Well, it wasn’t because I didn’t care about them, but I did assume that I wasn’t supposed to be working on my goals…in that moment. Perhaps it was a test from God to see if I would practice what I talk so much about to everyone; that I really meant what I said.

Perhaps, I was supposed to be Loving My Husband with Purpose.

Since I wasn’t in control of what was going to occur, and since I care about my husband more than opportunities, I didn’t fret. I knew that I was doing exactly what I was supposed to be doing, and I was certain that the opportunities that I am supposed to be moving toward would unfold in the time they were meant to. I was at peace with that part of my life. Still, I was afraid for my husband, for me, our kids, but deep down I really believed everything would turn out the way we all wanted it to. I just hated seeing him go through the pain.

When you decide to let go, offering your life to God to do what He wants, your doors will open. You will have what you need in your life; regardless whether you know it at the time or not. When you pay attention to what is happening in front of you, you experience freedom. You don’t stress over what you think you are supposed to be doing, and you actually learn to live in the moment.

We all need to be prepared for certain meetings, work to complete the details we have in our lives, but recognizing when God turns a corner for us can be life altering.

Do yourself a favor and pay attention…to each and every moment. Start watching why something happens, when something occurs, and how you react. You can create the change that makes you grateful each and every day, and in each and every moment. You just have to look for the blessing, the lesson, or the reason.

It’s in there!

To read more on dating, relationships, family and friends, check out my book, Loving with Purpose, or go to any of the following links…

Twitter

Facebook

Pinterest

MySpace

YouTube

Google+

Tumblr

Leave a Comment...It's Appreciated!

